Book Review: Photo Idea Index

Standard

Title: Photo Idea Index
Author: Jim Krause
Publisher: How Books

Date Finished: 1/9/13
Rating: 

I’ve had this book for about a year but continually put off reading it because of my assumption that it would be useless without access to a better camera. I finally read it last month after getting my first dSLR only to find my original assumptions to be 100% wrong. This was a great way to get started with my new camera, but I should have read it much sooner.

I typically don’t like reading how-to books since I learn better by doing but, as the back cover says, this is not a typical how to book. It is absolutely full of practical ways to improve the overall quality of your photos.  After reading I not only felt more confident about the photos I’d taken in the past, but also more free to experiment when taking new ones- needless to say it was a good way to get started with my new camera.  Reading this also cemented my belief that it takes more than a fancy camera to make someone a photographer.

This book was written to be accessible. It’s doesn’t focus on the technical aspects of photography (although it does contain useful information about those as well), so you can benefit from reading even if you don’t have a fancy camera, equipment, software, or even previous knowledge of photography. With that said, even experienced photographers who do have fancy cameras and equipment can get something from reading. The book explains the importance of cultivating creativity and a new perspective and proves that there are opportunities for good photos everywhere.  Whether you have a camera bag full of gear or just the camera on your phone, this book can help you take better photos. It’s even on sale now so there’s no excuse not to check it out!

Look inside Photo Idea Index: http://www.jimkrausedesign.com/pii_1.html

Buy here: http://www.mydesignshop.com/photo-idea-index

More on Jim Krause and his work: http://www.jimkrausedesign.com/index.html

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

