Creative Space

Aside

For my first post, I thought I’d show where I’ll be running this blog from. I took had to take these photos for a swap I signed up for about creative spaces. At first, taking photos of my personal space and opening myself up for criticism seemed daunting but it actually turned out to be interesting, not to mention it gave me the push I seriously needed to clean up.

Speaking of cleaning, I think it’s only fair to say that my desk is NEVER this clean. I took these photos less than a week ago and there are already stacks of books and mail all over the place. It never lasts.

Here’s the tour:

The desk is actually made up of three separate units, all from Ikea. When I was buying furniture for my room, I decided to go with black and white and add colorful accessories and decorations all over the place- so I loved this set up.

Here’s the unit on the far right. I don’t usually have my typewriter out but I’ve been desperately trying to clean it so that I can start using it again. Since that space is usually empty- this is where I tend to dump a lot of random things I come home with.

Two main reasons why this is awesome: it holds everything and it has wheels. I keep files, binders, and notebooks on the left (most of them are school-related) and sketchbooks, art supplies, and cds on the right. I use the smaller shelves to store copier paper for the printer and random stuff that doesn’t fit anywhere else.

Now over to the middle. The white areas on the back are what made me choose this desk- they’re magnetic white boards. I use one for writing notes and to do lists and the other for displaying various things.

This is definitely my favorite part of my room- I’m way too proud of it. I brought the birdcage back from Scotland years ago and just recently found an actual use for it. I usually turn off all the lights and turn on the birdcage lights and one other to do yoga or relax.

This area isn’t exactly thrilling, but it’s possibly one of the most useful. The file compartments on the right are the only thing about all three units that I don’t like. They don’t actually hold file folders so it’s tough to keep things organized. I use cigar boxes a lot to organize things. The one under the lamp is full of photo prints I don’t have a proper place to store yet.

I think it’s important to surround yourself with things that make you happy. Hence, the Andy Warhol calendar. I love everything about him. That’s also why my room is littered with photos, Japanese cat figurines, and books- they’re all things I love.

I’m not usually one to make New Years Resolutions, but if I had one it would be to stay organized. I have no problem of getting organized, it’s keeping things that way that I need to work on. Hopefully I can keep my desk looking this night for longer than a few days!

7 thoughts on “Creative Space

  1. This is wonderful! I love that you have a typewriter. And I live in Pittsburgh, Andy Warhol’s hometown. The museum is pretty awesome, though there are no actual postcard of the museum, just Andy’s art.

    I recommend joining LetterMo.com as a fabulous way to make use of this beautiful space. Of course, SendSomething is perfect, too, but LetterMo is a fun challenge for just the month of February.

    Thank you for posting your link on the SendSomething Facebook page!

    • Thank you! I got the typewriter when I was about 8 (I was a weird kid), but it’s been in storage for a few years. I’m excited to start using it again.
      I’m SO jealous you live in Pittsburgh! Going to the Warhol museum has been on my bucket list for a while. Hopefully I can make a road trip there soon- Pittsburgh is only 5 hours or so from where I live.
      LetterMo looks really interesting and the February challenge is a great idea. I’m excited to start! I’ll probably do a few posts about it as the month goes on. Thanks for your ideas

  2. drommelisa

    Wow, I really like your space, especially how large your desk is. My desk is so small that it’s always full of stuff, and when I am writing a letter or doing an envelope I have to move everything away first 😛
    This post really inspired.me to take pictures of my space also 🙂
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Thank you! I’ve never had such a large desk before either. I’m doing my best to actually use it as a desk this year as opposed to just dumping stuff all over it. I’d love to see your photos when you take them 🙂

Leave a Reply

